Finn Jensen

Finn Jensen - Green Party Candidate for Park Ward May 2018

Finn Jensen

I do paid work for Power to Change, a charity with £150 million that helps setting up community businesses. However, most of my time is spent doing voluntary work. Twenty years ago we set up Blackshaw Environmental Action Team (BEAT) which is still running and which led in 2012 to the creation of Pennine Community Power (PCP) (where I am a director). PCP has set up a community owned wind turbine, put solar panels on a school, etc.
I am on the panel of Calderdale Energy Future along with public & private sector representatives and community groups.

I am involved in Together We Grow, which supports refugees and asylum seekers, and in Calderdale Compass, which campaigns to get a voting system with proportional representation and an electoral alliance between parties to achieve this.

Among my interests are also gardening, walking, classical music, yoga and reading.

I have lived in Calderdale for 25 years, the first 4 years in Todmorden and then 21 years in Blackshaw Head. It is a lovely place for walking, has a rich cultural life and a lot of good community groups.

My three main priorities are:
1. to see a fairer electoral system with some form of proportional representation
2. to address environmental issues like climate change and air pollution on a much bigger scale and much faster, and
3. to tackle social injustices, like growing poverty and inequality.

I am the chair of Calderdale Green Party and you can contact me by email:

Election Candidates May 3rd 2018

Brighouse - Kate Sweeny

Calder - Jenny Shepherd

Elland - Barry Crossland

Greetland and Stainland - Mark Mullany

Hipperholme and Lightcliffe - Martin Hey

Illingworth and Mixenden -  Angela Street

Luddendenfoot - Michael Prior

Northowram and Shelf - Elaine Hey

Ovenden - Katherine Horner

Park - Finn Jensen

Rastrick - Angharad Turner

Ryburn - Katie Witham

Skircoat - Marie Nelson

Sowerby Bridge - John Nesbitt

Todmorden - Kieran Turner

Town - Alan McDonald

Warley - Frank Holt

Hebden Royd Town Council By-election 3 May 2018

Fairfield - Jenny Shepherd